Rochester DWI Attorney – Call 585.531.1101
Rochester First Offense DWI Attorney
The criminal justice system in the United States is not exactly renowned for being lenient, especially considering that our country has about 700 people per 100,000 incarcerated. With that said, first time criminal offenses can and frequently do slam people with heavy consequences that are incredibly difficult to manage or shoulder. This is especially true for driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges, which is why you need a strong DWI Defense. Contact our Rochester First Offense DWI Attorney today.
For first offense DWI charges in New York,
you could be penalized with:
Up to one year in jail
$500 to $1,000 in fines
Six month license suspension (minimum)
Fees to any injured or damaged parties
Keep in mind that the aforementioned penalties are for “standard” DWIs, or cases in which the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was above 0.08% – or significant enough to cause debilitation – but not excessively high. If your BAC level is reported at 0.18% or higher, you will likely be hit with aggravated DWI charges, even if it is your first DWI charge on your record.
Escalated penalties for an aggravated
first time DWI charge may include:
$1,000 to $2,000 fines
License revocation for one year
Installation of interlock ignition device
Other penalties related to a “standard” DWI
New York State’s Lookback Period
When you are convicted of a DWI in New York State, you need to realize that you are also creating the beginning of a lookback period that persists for five years. If you are arrested for a DWI again while a lookback period exists on your driving record, your charges and potential penalties will escalate. For this reason, it is all the more critical that you react accordingly to a first time DWI charge and challenge it.
Rochester First Offense DWI Attorneys You Can Lean On
Most people who do not choose to challenge their charges after being arrested for a DWI in New York for the first time typically do so for two reasons: either they believe the consequences will not be too severe, or they believe there is no way to defend themselves. Both scenarios could not be any further from the truth. When you rely on our knowledgeable and effective team of Rochester first offense DWI Attorney at The Law Office of Frank Ciardi to protect your rights, the chances of you obtaining the best possible outcome for your case will greatly increase.
Contact Us Today
For more info about our law office and how we can help you.
How Can We Help You?
Ready to Take Charge of Your Case?
Call Today (585) 232-6830
The Law Office of Frank Ciardi - Rochester & Buffalo Criminal Defense Attorney